Michael E. Byczek

Copyright Registration Categories

Copyright registrations are categorized into one of five standard groups, each having separate application and submission requirements: literary works, performing arts, visual art, sound recordings, and serials.

Below are examples from the U.S. Copyright Office to understand each category.

Nondramatic Literary Works

Performing Arts

Visual Art

Sound Recordings


Front Page      Copyright Main Page      Copyright Law      Registration Requirements      Infringement